My yearly mecca

Five years ago I convinced the music site I was writing for that I should be their pick to review the Sasquatch! Music Festival held annually at Washington’s Gorge Amphitheater. I’d never been, but I’d heard amazing things about the venue, as well as the experience. Plus, tickets were going for around 250 bucks, so I knew my only chance to get up there would be a free pass as a journalist.

Luckily it worked out. I have not been the same since.

The very first set I got to see at Sasquatch! ’10 was Brother Ali, and it only took about 5 minutes of watching him perform on the Bigfoot stage, which sets directly above a Columbia Gorge canyon, for me to understand I had found my favorite place on Earth. It was one of about a hundred moments I’ve spent on the hill in front of that stage, and the many others of the festival, in which I forgot about everything else and just heard the music.

I haven’t missed a year of the fest yet, and it’s given me the chance to see close to 200 bands play Sasquatch! It’s obviously next to impossible to pinpoint my favorite show over the years, but I can safely narrow it down to Mogwai, Killer Mike, Ratatat, The Heavy, Queens of the Stone Age, Robyn, Kid Cudi, Caribou, Outkast, Tenacious D, Alabama Shakes, Pink Mountaintops, Kurt Vile, Red Fang, Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears (before he ditched the Honeybears) and Arctic Monkeys. Hot damn were those sets incredible.

But anyways, have a look at a select few of the shots I’ve taken over the years:

sasquatch12-1

sasquatch10-3

Caribou

sasquatch11-blackjoe

Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears

sasquatch10-2

 

 

Black Mountain

Black Mountain

The Flaming Lips. Of course.

The Flaming Lips. Of course.

Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi

the xx

the xx

Leave a Reply

