9/21/14 Playlist



Apologies to my fans out there for a mostly post-less week…there was just so much going on that I didn’t get a chance to write much! But don’t you worry, there’ll be all sorts of posts for you to read this week.

As for the new playlist, covers have really been on my mind since Miley Cyrus went and released her version of Zeppelin’s “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You” a week or so ago. Of course I was mortified at first, because I simply cannot stand that girl, but then I actually listened to her remake and had to admit: nice work, Miley. It takes a lot to master a Zeppelin cover – Alabama Shakes are the only group I’ve seen do it right in concert, with “How Many More Times” – but Billy Ray’s daughter does surprisingly well at it. What do you guys think?

In the meantime, here’s a look at the covers that really mean something to me. The playlist opens with a fierce Nirvana cover from Charles Bradley & the Menahan Street Band, who turn the song into a psychedelic burner all Bradley’s own, and wraps up with the cover some say started rock ‘n’ roll. Now I don’t care all that much for Elvis, but that song, goddam…a definite favorite of mine.

Also included are a fantastic rework of the Britney Spears smash “Toxic” by Tiggers and the late great Ol’ Dirty Bastard, remixed by Mark Ronson, as well as Jimmy Fallon and Stephen Colbert’s hilarious rendition of Rebecca Black’s “Friday”.

And of course Jimi Hendrix is in there, but not with his excellent remake of Dylan’s “All Along The Watchtower”. Hendrix did many, many covers in his day, but his most well known is not my favorite – instead, it’s another of Dylan’s, “Like A Rolling Stone”, which he performed at the ’67 Monterey Pop. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and I dare you to not get starry eyed while you listen to it.

One comment

Leave a Reply

